Posted in Projects

First tries, part 1

image

I’ve been thinking of different applications for my skulls that may be more attractive to the general Etsy shopper. One of the things I’ve noticed is getting big is combining florals with anatomy. I’m not super big on leaping onto whatever bandwagon just because it’s getting popular, but I’ve always loved negative space embroidery, where the focus of the piece is actually absent & what’s framing it is gorgeous. I thought, hey, I could try that. I opted to leave a little detail inside the skull, because skeletal beauty, that’s why, but I’m worried it makes it too muddled. I would love some feedback on this – whether it still looks like a skull, whether it works, whether my florals are too pathetic for existence. I’m not very practiced with floral embroidery & definitely need to do more work with it, but I have ideas for improvement to this general idea that may stick closer to my style anyway. Please share your thoughts! Thank you!

Author:

I am a (stay at home) mommy to a pair of beastlings, wife to a wonderful man, and mildly obsessive embroiderer/knitter. I'm also an anatomist, reader, music lover, movie watcher, Dr Pepper drinker(addict), hiker, mild pack-rat, and nerd queen.

Leave a comment